GETTING A LIBRARY CARD
Cards are available free of charge to Bridgeview residents
upon presentation of two forms of identification:
Types of identification:
An ID with your photograph on it: such as a driver's license with your Bridgeview address on it or State of Illinois identification card.
Another ID showing your current Bridgeview address: such as a utility bill, a lease, a voter registration card, or any current mail with your address on it.
** Juvenile Cards: A parent or legal guardian must present proof of residency as stated above and fill out the application card. Once signed, you (parent) are then responsible for materials loaned to the juvenile patron.
Because your library is a member of the RAILS Library System your library card will be honored at:
- any of the public libraries in the RAILS Library System
- all academic libraries in the RAILS Library System
- any public library in several other library systems in Illinois, including Chicago Public Library
RENEWING YOUR LIBRARY CARD
To renew your card, you must bring the card and proof of residency to the circulation desk.
Circulation staff will renew the card for another 2 years.
A parent must renew your card if you are under the age of 18.
All fines and fees on the account must be paid before a card can be renewed.
LOST CARDS & LOST OR DAMAGED MATERIALS
Cardholders are responsible for materials checked out on their cards until reported lost or stolen.
A fee of $5.00 is charged for replacement of a current library card. All outstanding fines /fees MUST be paid at time of card replacement.
To replace a lost or stolen card, a patron must prove residency in the Village of Bridgeview in the same way as in the original card application.
Patrons under the age of 18 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian to replace a lost card.
Lost or Damaged Materials
When an item is lost or damaged you may pay the cost to replace the item, OR you can purchase a new, identical copy. In addition, a processing fee will be charged for items needing replacement. Processing fee is $5.00
In the event that a lost item is found within 2 weeks, after the due date, a refund for the price of the material will be issued, however the processing fee is non-refundable.
Fees that are charged for replacement parts are non-refundable.
Material Loan Period Renewal
Books 3 weeks Yes
Books on Tape 3 weeks Yes
Books on CD 3 weeks Yes
Playaways 3 weeks Yes
Music CDs 3 weeks Yes
All Books, CDs, and Playaways are renewable 1 time for an additional 3 weeks.
Magazines 1 week Yes
Magazines are renewable 1 time for an additional 1 week.
DVDs 7 days Yes (Must be done in the library only.)
DVDs cost $1.00 to check out.
Overdue fines are charged at the rate of 10 cents per day.
The exception is DVDs which are charged at the rate of $1.00 per day, per item. >